The Anchoress Is Back With Details Of Her Second Album

‘The Art Of Losing’ is set to arrive on March 5 via Kscope and was written by Catherine Anne Davies with the Dylan Thomas quote “rage against the dying of the light” in mind after several years of personal loss.

The announcement arrives with a vexed, synth-driven new single, Show Your Face, the Welsh multi-instrumentalist’s first new music as the Anchoress in four years, following her 2016 debut LP ‘Confessions Of A Romance Novelist’.

The Depeche Mode-esque track leans towards the heavier and darker aesthetic of Davies’ sound while lashing out at toxic masculinity. It features drumming from Sterling Campbell, who has worked with high profile acts such as David Bowie and Duran Duran, alongside the guitar talents of Manic Street Preachers frontman James Dean Bradfield, who also sings a duet on the record.

Head below to view the LP’s artwork and the track’s unnerving yet powerful video that shows a woman being followed by a man.

Davies recently teamed up with former Suede guitarist Bernard Butler for a one-off collaborative album, ‘In Memory Of My Feelings’, which landed through Needle Mythology in September.

‘The Art Of Losing’ tracklist:

  1. Moon Rise (Prelude)
  2. Let It Hurt
  3. The Exchange (feat. James Dean Bradfield)
  4. Show Your Face
  5. The Art of Losing
  6. All Farewells Should Be Sudden
  7. All Shall Be Well
  8. Unravel
  9. Paris
  10. 5AM
  11. The Heart Is A Lonesome Hunter
  12. My Confessor
  13. With The Boys
  14. Moon (An End)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.