Barry Gibb Has Dropped A New Song With Jason Isbell, Words Of A Fool

The soulful, acoustic duet serves as the first preview of the former Bee Gee’s forthcoming bluegrass-inspired project, ‘Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 1’, due out on January 8 via Capitol.

It was recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studios with producer Dave Cobb and will feature collaborations with mostly country and Americana artists. Words Of A Fool, meanwhile, was written for a 1986 solo Gibb full-length which never materialised.

Other guests set to appear on the record include Dolly Parton, Brandi Carlile, Keith Urban, Sheryl Crow, Miranda Lambert, Alison Krauss and Little Big Town, among others. Take a look at a trailer for the LP below.

“I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by,” Gibb said in a statement. “They were all incredibly generous with their time and talent. They inspired me more than words can express.

I feel deep down that Maurice and Robin would have loved this album for different reasons. I wish we could have all been together to do it… but I think we were.”

‘Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 1’ tracklist:

  1. I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You with Keith Urban
  2. Words of a Fool with Jason Isbell
  3. Run to Me with Brandi Carlile
  4. Too Much Heaven with Alison Krauss
  5. Lonely Days with Little Big Town
  6. Words with Dolly Parton
  7. Jive Talkin’ with Miranda Lambert, Jay Buchanan
  8. How Deep Is Your Love with Tommy Emanuel, Little Big Town
  9. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart with Sheryl Crow
  10. To Love Somebody with Jay Buchanan
  11. Rest Your Love On Me with Olivia Newton-John
  12. Butterfly with Gillian Welch, David Rawlings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.